top of page

get to know 
NWSC adult basic education!

Our mission statement

"The Mission of Adult Basic Education in Minnesota is to provide adults with educational opportunities to acquire and improve their literacy skills necessary to become self-sufficient and to participate effectively as productive workers, family members, and citizens."

ABE Website Icons (9).png


To enroll in  ABE classes you must be:

  • At least 17 years old;

  • Not currently enrolled in high school; and

  • Are unable to speak, read, or write the English language, or

  • Do not have a high school diploma or recognized equivalent, or

  • Need brush up on  basic educational skills to go to college or get a job

ABE Website Icons (10).png


  • All classes are free.

ABE Website Icons (12).png

consortium member school districts

Minnesota Adult Basic Education (ABE) is a state-wide system that serves approximately 65,000 adults annually, delivered through a network of 40 consortia across the state.

Adult Basic Education Services are offered through Northwest Service Cooperative ABE which consists of the following member school districts:

  • Badger

  • Bagley

  • Bemidji

  • Blackduck

  • Clearbrook-Gonvick

  • Crookston

  • East Grand Forks

  • Fertile-Beltrami

  • Fisher 

  • Goodridge 

  • Greenbush-Middle River 

  • Grygla

  •  Kelliher

  • Kittson Central

  • Lake of the Woods

  • Lancaster

  • Laporte

  • Marshall County Central

  • Nevis 

  • Park Rapids

  • Red Lake County Central 

  • Red Lake Falls

  • Roseau

  • Stephen-Argyle

  • Thief River Falls 

  • Tri County 

  • Warren-Alvarado-Oslo

  • Warroad

  • Win-E-Mac

bottom of page